ABOUT ME

I was born and raised in America and completed my undergraduate degree in psychology at the University of Virginia. While traveling in my 20s, I met my Australian husband and we moved back to Queensland together. We moved between the Sunshine Coast and Brisbane, during which time I completed my Masters degree in Clinical Psychology at the University of Queensland. My clinical training included a placement at a Child & Youth Mental Health Service in Brisbane, working with children and adolescents with severe and complex mental health concerns. After completion of the degree, I worked in private practice on the Sunshine Coast for several years, seeing children and adults across the lifespan with a number of concerns.

I have completed additional training in a number of areas, including perinatal psychology; couple therapy; OCD; children's mental health; weight management; the Collaborative Problem Solving framework for working with children; and cognitive therapy. I am also an accredited facilitator of the Secret Agent Society social skills programs for children with an Autism Spectrum Disorder and the Triple P parenting programs. I believe in being a lifelong learner, and I participate each year in training that I feel will assist me to build new skills as a psychologist, and to deepen my knowledge in the areas in which I already work.

My mission as a clinical psychologist is to provide a high quality professional psychology service in a safe, supportive environment free from discrimination. It is my aim to effectively deliver evidence-based interventions in order to promote positive outcomes and wellbeing for individuals, couples, and families of diverse backgrounds and values. I work primarily from a Cognitive Behaviour Therapy (CBT) perspective; however, I also may incorporate elements of Acceptance & Commitment Therapy (ACT), Schema Therapy, Emotion-Focussed Therapy (EFT), and Dialetical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) into my practice, depending on the individual client's needs.

Personally, I live in Springsure with my husband and our toddler daughter. I enjoy traveling, reading, cooking, exercising, being outdoors, and spending time with my family and friends.

 

0432 270 743

07 3811 2983

Lot 1 Pilot Farm Road
Emerald QLD 4720

©2018 by McDonald Clinical Psychology. Proudly created with Wix.com